The Bluegrass Conspiracy

My book club met this week. This month we read The Bluegrass Conspiracy by Sally Denton. 

Image

Honestly I was not a fan of this book, not at all. The story of the book (drugs, love, money, and greed) was juicy and interesting, however the writing was not. One lady in my book club summed it up well in saying that the book read like a police blotter. The story was everywhere and you read the same thing from different vantage points. There were also far too many characters to keep with. I understand that it is a true story and the author (apparently) didn’t want to leave any characters out, no matter how small their role in the story. 

I enjoyed learning more about Lexington’s darker side. It made me question whether or not Lexington has cleaned up its police force since those dark days of drug running. It was also interesting to read about influential people, including those who still live near us today.

Overall, I would say if you are not from Lexington or living in Lexington – skip this book.

Leave a comment